C2.2 Requirements of ISO 14001


Please note that this section now refers to ISO 14001:2015. This standard was issued in 2015 and organisations with existing certification have three years to comply with the new requirements.

NQA have published a guidance document “ISO 14001:2015 TRANSITION Guidance, which is available here:


In this section we shall briefly look at:

  • Context of the Organisation
  • Leadership and Commitment
  • Actions to Address Risks and Opportunities
  • Environmental Policy
  • Environmental Aspects
  • Compliance Obligations
  • Objectives and Action Plans
  • Organizational Roles, Responsibilities and Authorities
  • Competence, Training and Awareness
  • Communication
  • Documented information
  • Operational Planning and Control
  • Emergency Preparedness and Response
  • Monitoring & Measurement
  • Evaluation of Compliance
  • Nonconformity and Corrective Action
  • Internal Audit
  • Management Review
  • Continual Improvement