B3.7.4 Landfill Directive [1999/31/EC]


Council Directive 1999/31/EC of 26 April 1999 on the landfill of waste aims to prevent (or reduce) the adverse effects of the landfill of waste on the environment.

It defines the different categories of waste:

  • Municipal waste.
  • Hazardous waste.
  • Non-hazardous waste.
  • Inert waste.


The Directive applies to all landfills, which are divided into three classes:

  • Landfills for hazardous waste.
  • Landfills for non-hazardous waste.
  • Landfills for inert waste.


Requirements of the Directive include:

  • Waste must be treated before being landfilled.
  • Each type of landfill may only accept specific types of waste (i.e. hazardous waste landfills accept hazardous waste).
  • A ban on landfilling some waste types, including:
    • Liquid waste.
    • Flammable waste.
    • Explosive or oxidising waste.
    • Infectious hospital and other clinical waste.
    • Used tyres (with certain exceptions).