B1.3.4 European Parliament


“The Voice of the People”

The European Parliament passes European laws on the basis of proposals presented by the European Commission. Parliament shares this responsibility with the Council of the European Union. Parliament has the power to dismiss the European Commission.

Members of the European Parliament (MEPs) do not sit in national blocks, but in Europe-wide political groups. These include parties such as socialists, liberals or greens.

The main meetings of the Parliament are held in Strasbourg (France), others in Brussels (Belgium). Like all other EU institutions, the Parliament works in all the 23 official EU languages.

The European Parliament is elected every five years by the people of Europe to represent their interests.

The Parliament elects the European Ombudsman, who investigates citizens’ complaints about maladministration by the EU institutions.