B1.16.1 Civil Courts continued (2)


Administrative Court

The Administrative Court was formerly known as the Crown Office. It is one of the most varied in terms of what it covers. The type of cases it deals with are:

  • Judicial Reviews.
  • Statutory appeals and applications.
  • Applications for Habeas Corpus.
  • Applications under the Drug Trafficking Act 1994 and the Criminal Justice Act 1988.


Examples of the types of decision which may fall within the range of Judicial Review include:

  • Decisions of local authorities in the exercise of their duties to provide various welfare benefits and special education for children in need of such education.
  • Certain decisions of the immigration authorities and Immigration Appellate Authority.
  • Decisions of regulatory bodies.
  • Decisions relating to prisoner’s rights.


Office of the Judge Advocate General (OJAG).

In addition to the Court of Appeal and the High Court the Group is responsible for the Office of the Judge Advocate General (OJAG).

The office of the Judge Advocate General (OJAG) deals with criminal trials of service men and women in the Royal Navy, the Army and the Royal Air Force for serious offences (or where the defendant chooses not to be dealt with by the Commanding Officer), which are known as Court-Martial.

Every Court-Martial trial has a judge on the bench presiding over the conduct of the proceedings and ruling on all legal matters arising, the same as in a civilian Crown Court trial.

Judges who sit in Courts-Martial are known as Judge Advocates. They are always civilians and always legally qualified. Full-time Judge Advocates are appointed by the Lord Chancellor like other District and Circuit Judges.