B1.16 Court Structure


The English Court Structure is provided below:

B1.16 UKcourt-structure 2017


Source: Her Majesty’s Courts Service (HMCS)

© Crown Copyright.

Supreme Court (formerly the House of Lords)

This is an appeal court only.

In 2009 the Supreme Court replaced the House of Lords as the highest court in England, Wales and Northern Ireland. As with the House of Lords, the Supreme Court hears appeals from the Court of Appeal and the High Court (only in exceptional circumstances). It also hears appeals from the Inner House of the Court of Session in Scotland. Appeals are normally heard by 5 Justices (formerly Lords of Appeal in Ordinary, or Law Lords), but there can be as many as 9.


Court of Appeal

The Court of Appeal consists of two divisions:

  • The civil division which hears appeals from the High Court.
  • The criminal division which hears appeals from the Crown Court.