A4.5 Content of Agenda 21


Agenda 21 is split into four sections:

Section 1:        Social and Economic Dimensions

This includes combating poverty, changing consumption patterns, population and demographic dynamics, promoting health, promoting sustainable settlement patterns and integrating environment and development into decision-making.

Section 2:        Conservation and Management of Resources for Development

This includes atmospheric protection, combating deforestation, protecting fragile environments, conservation of biological diversity (biodiversity), and control of pollution.

Section 3:        Strengthening the Role of Major Groups

This includes the roles of children and youth, women, NGOs, local authorities, business and workers.

Section 4:        Means of Implementation

This includes science, technology transfer, education, international institutions and mechanisms and financial mechanisms.

The full report is available from the United Nations, Department of Economic & Social Affairs, Division for Sustainable Development: